List of Women Empowerment Programmes/ Schemes in India - KPSC JUNCTION

List of Women Empowerment Programmes/ Schemes in India

Women Empowerment can be defined as the process which allows women to take decisions of their own, provide fair laws and rights without gender bias, etc. No doubt the empowerment of women is Nation's empowerment. Let us read various programs or schemes of the government that provide or facilitate women empowerment.  

Beti Bachao Beti Padhao Scheme(22 January 2015):

To provide education to girls and their welfare. To prevent the violation in the interest of girls. To celebrate the birth of a girl child.

One-Stop Centre Scheme(1st April 2015):

1. It is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme. Its aim is to set up One Stop Centres (OSC) which is to be funded from the Nirbhaya Fund.

2. To provide support and assistance to women affected by violence at private or at any public place, irrespective of caste, class, religion, region, sexual orientation or marital status.

Women Helpline Scheme(1st April 2015):

To provide 24-hour emergency and non-emergency response to women affected by violence including sexual offences and harassment both in the public and private sphere, including e family, community, workplace, etc.

UJJAWALA: A Comprehensive Scheme for Prevention of trafficking and Rescue, Rehabilitation and Re-integration of Victims of Trafficking and Commercial Sexual Exploitation(December 2007):

For the prevention of trafficking and providing support for rescue, rehabilitation, reintegration and repatriation of women and child victims of trafficking for commercial sexual exploitation in India. The Scheme is being implemented mainly through NGOs to provide direct aid and benefit to the victims of trafficking.

Working Women Hostel(Introduced in 1972-73 and after amendment re-launched on 6th April, 2017):

To promote availability of safe and conveniently located accommodation for working women, with day care facility for their children, wherever possible, in urban, semi urban, or even rural areas where employment opportunities for women exist.

Rajiv Gandhi National Creche Scheme for the Children of Working Mothers(The programme was recast by the Government of India in 2006 ):

1. To provide day-care facilities for children (6 months to 6 years) of working mothers in the community.

2. To improve nutrition and health status of children.

3. To promote physical, cognitive, social and emotional development of children.

4. To educate and empower parents /caregivers for better childcare.

SWADHAR Scheme (A Scheme for Women in Difficult Circumstances)(2002):

For providing holistic and integrated services to women in difficult circumstances and without any family, social and economic support, such as  destitute widows deserted by their family in religious places like Vrindhaban and Kashi, women prisoners released from jails; women survivors of natural disasters who have been rendered homeless, trafficked women/girls rescued or runaway from brothels, women victims of terrorist violence without any means for survival, mentally challenged women and women with HIV/AIDS deserted by their family, etc.

Support to Training and Employment Programme for Women (STEP)(The Ministry has been administering STEP Scheme since 1986-87 as a ‘Central Sector Scheme’. It was revised in December, 2014):

To provide skills that give employability to women, to provide competencies and skill that enable women to become self-employed/ entrepreneurs.

Nari Shakti Puraskar(1999):

To recognise women who have exceeded expectations to challenge the status quo and make a lasting contribution to women’s empowerment.

Women Empowerment and Livelihood Programme in Mid-Gangetic Plains- 'Priyadarshini'(Pilot Project):

It focuses on Women empowerment and Livelihood in Mid-Gangetic Plains. It also empower to address their political, legal, health problems.

Mahila E-Haat(7th March, 2016):

It will help women to make financial and economic choices which will enable them to be a part of ‘Make in India’ and ‘Stand Up India’ initiatives.

 Rashtriya Mahila Kosh (RMK) is also known as the National Credit Fund for Women (NCFW)(1993):

It caters to the credit needs of the poor and asset-less women in the informal sector.

Central Social Welfare Board (CSWB)( 1953):

To promote social welfare activities and implementing welfare programmes for women and children through voluntary organisations.

Development of Women and Children in Rural Areas (DWCRA)(1982-83):

To improve the socio-economic status of the poor women in
the rural areas through creation of groups of women for income-generating activities on a self-sustaining

Previous article
Next article

Leave Comments

Post a Comment

Articles Ads

Articles Ads 1

Articles Ads 2

Advertisement Ads